Safety Award Program

As part of our commitment to providing a safe working environment, we strive for continual progress toward our goal of zero incidents, injuries, or harm while communicating our progress toward the goal. We recognize and reward locations assisting with this goal through our Safety Award Program which applies a 3 tiered approach to rewarding safety performance at Calgon Carbon: the CEO's Achievement Award, CEO's Distinction Award and the CEO's Most Improved Award. The award categories each rely on leading and lagging safety metrics.

The CEO's Achievement Award recognizes each Calgon Carbon Corporation owned and operated location that demonstrates outstanding safety performance, and the CEO's Distinction Award is a competitive award, recognizing the manufacturing or reactivation site in each region with the best safety performance. The CEO's Most Improved Award is awarded to the site with the greatest improvement in its total recordable incident rate over a set timeframe.

Last year, 11 of our facilities earned the CEO's Achievement Award, with more than 600 employees receiving awards across the organization. The CEO's Distinction Award was only achieved by facilities in the United States and Europe in 2016. For their performance in 2016, our Engineered Solutions (UV Technologies) in Findlay Township, PA, and Houghton le-Spring, UK (Cloth Division) plants were awarded the 2016 CEO's Distinction Award.

group holding safety trophy

Executive VP Steve Schott, Director of Engineering and Operations Terry Bimle, Columbus Plant Manager Tim Duckwall, CEO Randy Dearth, and Senior VP and General Counsel Chad Whalen pose for picture with the CEO's Distinction Award trophy earned by Terry Bimle and his UV Technologies team. Representing the 2015 recipients of the award, Tim Duckwall from the Columbus Plant was present to pass the trophy to the 2016 recipients.

group photo

Executive VP Steve Schott and Vice President William Zinsser present General Manager Dean Sleigh and the Cloth Division Employees with the 2016 CEO's Distinction Award. Pictured left to right: Stephen Milner, Bob Brown, Wayne Lavocah, Martin Towns, Paul Curtis, Jacquelin Andrews, Sharon Davies, Lee Scrimger, Ken Smith, William Wandless, Norman Snaith, Steve Bilton, Dean Sleigh, Steve Schott, Bill Zinsser, Jim Bowman, Dave Tindale, June Burlinson, Stephanie Carroll, Jayne Purvis, and David Edwards.